A Children’s Book for the Whole Family

There is a book I read to any younger members of my family every year: The Phantom Tollbooth, written by Norton Juster.  It is a Yearling book, an imprint of Random House, and has an Appreciation note by Maurice Sendak.  Taken together that is pretty powerful stuff.  And yet I often find adults that have never heard of it.

What is extraordinary about this book is that, whilst I read to younger ones, the older ones will almost always wander into earshot.  Even the adults that live in the house will find a moment to cozy up to us.  The book truly is timeless, and it genuinely holds the interest of any age.  Despite my having read it for my entire life (literally), I always manage to see something new.

This book is currently in print and easily located.  It is well worth the time, no matter what age is listening.

Leave a Reply

