These New Vending Machines are Awesome

This article from the NYT reminded me: I recently saw one of these new vending machines at a Macy’s here in Phoenix. It was selling iPods and other MP3 players plus accessories. I admit that I stood there for a long while and looked at it. It was shiny and appealing, which was the extraordinary part.

But in all practicality, I don’t know that I would purchase from them unless I knew what I wanted ahead of time. I am unlikely to stand there with the touch screen and do my research in public.  And – by design – there’s no salesperson I can ask questions.  Guess I’m just naturally chatty during sales transactions.  They’ll probably come out with a version soon that lets me electronically chat in real time.  That would be even extraordinary-er.

Leave a Reply

