Nail on the Head for Know-it-all-itis

What follows is a perfect description of how a perfectionist mind works, quoted directly from a terrific blog called Shoestrings & Daydreams.  From first point to second, there is only the know-it-all-itis at work.

#1:  “I have a compulsive need to always be right. It’s almost a crippling illness.”

Next comes a description of minor disagreement with someone who is wrong about something trivial, and then:  “So I let it go, because in my world an argument is much stronger when you have a Google search on your side.”  Said Google search was performed at a later time.

#2:  “I held onto this snippet of conversation for Six. Whole. Months. Of course, the topic never actually came up again, but if it did I was ready.  This is why I shouldn’t be allowed to talk to most people. And also why I’m sometimes surprised I still have friends.”

The whole post is funny and extraordinarily honest and you can read it here, Know-it-all-itis.  And while you’re there, notice her list of 30 things to do before she turns 30 that runs down the right column.  Fun!

Leave a Reply

