Bob Newhart Made My Time Speed Up

Bob NewhartBob Newhart is celebrating 50 years in the entertainment business.  I’m a fan and always have been, so I watched an interview with Lester Holt on the Today Show.  That segment is 4:53 long, and yet I was amazed at how fast it seemed to go.  Usually I approach anything over 3 minutes with trepidation, but these 5 minutes flew right past.

Bob Newhart addresses one of my favorite characteristics of his work:  his comedy is “clean,” meaning not profane or lewd.  He mentions that striving for that standard makes his job harder, but at the end of the day he feels good about the efforts.

I can’t imagine anyone who couldn’t appreciate – if not outright love – Bob Newhart’s consistently extraordinary comedy for a full 5 decades.  Wow!  That time flew past, too.

Leave a Reply

